Categories
Uncategorized

Uniquely You.

 

download (8)

God created us to be unique.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” ~Psalm 139:14.


We’re not meant to be the same, we aren’t robots, that doesn’t mean we can’t be similar; but, we can’t be the same entirely and 100%. You should never be ashamed of who you are, you, sometimes, should be ashamed of what you have done, but your mistakes do not define you. They never will.

Challenges mold you. Successes help you. Failures show who you are.

But, mistakes do not define you; but, that doesn’t mean you can’t learn from them.

Success = maybe money? Temporary happiness?

You don’t learn from success because you didn’t mess up and didn’t make a mistake.

Failure = learn from them, get better because of them.

You have a chance, when you fail to become better, don’t pass it up. You can get grouchy/negative/be mean to yourself, or you can realize that (everyone) makes mistakes and you aren’t the only one in this 6,000-year-old earth that has a population of about 7 billion that has made the same mistake. Trust me, I have made lots of mistakes, (I do not manage my time well sometimes, I struggle with depression, I bite my nails a lot, I am not the most organized person I know *laughs* and lots of other stuff that is a little too personal.)

I’m not my sister. I’m not my best friend. I’m not my mom. I’m not my grandmother.

I’m ME. And I am good with that. I like ME. Because God made me ME.

I (ME) am not perfect, I (ME) am a mess, I (ME)…God loves.

Sometimes I wonder why, but He does. He always has.


This may sound offensive, but this is how my Mom puts it.

Why Don’t You Like Yourself? God Likes You, Ariana, You Are Not Better Than Him

& Saying You Aren’t Good Enough Is Like Slapping God In the Face…Because He

Thinks You Are!

Woah, really? Ouch. That hurts…a lot. But, it makes a great point and will continue to every time I think I’m not good enough because I will remember what my Mom says…and said…and will say in the future. <:

So, what’s stopping us from liking ourselves?

Let. Me. Show. YOU.

  • Celebrities with perfect bodies
  • Fellow Christians that are “perfect” (psst…legalistic).
  • Bullying at school, or sadly, maybe even at the home
  • Self-doubt triggered by a person, and that person might not even know it, (ex.: a joke said by them months ago that hurt you without them realizing it…)

The list can go on…and on…and on. ): Unfortunately, for a very long time it does go on.

You know what the funny thing is?

Everyone has different reactions to feeling like a failure or being hurt.

Instead of being hurt, they (may) hurt others.

Instead of being hurt and reminded they are a failure, they (may) climb into a shell and have to be dragged out-if a person can drag them out.

Everyone differs in the way they react to things based on their personality.

Don’t. Be. A. Person. That. Hurts. It. Is. Never. Good.

One friend I have can tell you-you don’t want to make my friend feel insecure and bad about herself, you aren’t going to get away with it. I was literally told by a boy, (not by one that did it), but by a boy that he had a new respect for me because I stood up for her and he was scared for anyone that was mean. This was all online, by the way, so no, I didn’t hurt him physically, haha, but he made me mad. You can’t mess with someone in a mean way, and she told him to stop and he didn’t, it can really hurt a person.

The phrase sticks and stones break my bones but words never hurt me…not true.

It is a LIE. Words hurt more than a lot of people know.

Another big mess up of the self-esteem world is school. Some people aren’t good at certain subjects, for example, I am slow at math, though I can do it, sometimes when Mom asks me a simple question I’m like “Um,” even though I know the answer. I am very good at literature and history and theology and psychology, but I’m not good at science, geography, or grammar really at all. It can be disheartening because I used to be good at science, (Zoology, Botany, and Marine Biology I did great at), but then Biology and Chemistry hit me.

But, my mind isn’t wired to be great at Chemistry, (doesn’t mean I can’t do well or that I can’t get it at some point), but that does mean it may not come naturally to me and that’s fine, we are all unique and different, if we weren’t the world would be predictable and boring.

Let me tell you girls, predictable and boring = Haha, no way, Jose. 

Have you heard the phrase “Life is not fair,” well sometimes that’s true, and it’s also true that we need to get over it and move on.

Sorry…that’s getting into a whole new topic. Haha! But, what I was saying is that life is unpredictable and not boring because we all unique and different, you know? That’s the way God made it, (Psalm 139:14), and that’s the way it will always be.

If we accept ourselves our world will be better and the world around us.

Why? My Mother says someone is automatically prettier when a person is confident. Also, a confident smile or visible confidence, (by a walk, for example) is contagious and you can help others become more confident, and that’s what we should be doing; especially as Christians, right? Yes, correct.

We need to be confident physically, mentally, and spiritually.

But, what if you’re not supposed to be confident?

Maybe your spiritual life shouldn’t be praised and you shouldn’t be confident in it?

Accept the fact and then move on…not from the problem but the doubting thoughts of “FAILURE” and other such things, because once again, that is the devil talking, and it is a test for the spiritual you, learn from your past mistakes and better yourself.

As Christians, we need to realize that the devil is after us. 

My Mom always said the devil was after me, and it’s true, (I faced fear for seven years, depression, anxiety, I’ve felt dumb and not smart enough, not pretty enough…and I could go on).

When the devil goes after you-you have to realize that you have something to give to the world he doesn’t want them to have. It may be one person you save…but, that person could have killed the next Billy Graham with the devil’s help. Never take one person for granted, you have no idea what you just did half the time, but the little things count, too.

Or, maybe that person you saved was the next Billy Graham, you just don’t know. 


 

I hope you enjoyed this post and it meant something to you. 🙂 ❤

Questions.png

Do you struggle with the things talked about?

Any prayer requests for yourself or friends about this issue?

many-blessings.png

By Ariana Evans

I'm a psychology geek, a reader, a writer, photography, and a tutor. I love all these things and will continue to "live" in these areas.

21 replies on “Uniquely You.”

PREACH, GIRL!!!!!
This is amazing Ariana!!! Just……..perfectly perfect. Everything you said. ❤❤❤💖💜💜💙💚💕

Liked by 3 people

I’ve never felt good enough. From a young age (like 4 or 5) I was defined as smart, by my family, teachers, and friends. Now, I feel this massive expectation to do well on a test, live up to what everyone thinks. I hate disappointing people, so I think that’s part of it? Thank you Ari for writing this. Your mother is a wise woman, and even though my family and I aren’t religious (please don’t take offence, it’s our choice and I still love and respect those who are religious and they’re religion) I could still love what she was saying. 💜💜💜

Liked by 2 people

Oh, I won’t take offense to your family or you not being religious. That’s sad, Rhi, and I have been under that burden myself, I will pray for you (the only way I know how to help you)-and I think that your problem is high expectations from your family and yourself. Remember: you don’t have to be perfect and if you “fail” it doesn’t mean you are a failure.

Liked by 1 person

Self esteem is almost impossible.
Honestly one of the things I love is this quote I found on Pinterest. (I can’t find it😥) Anyway, say you’re an artist. You spend a long time perfecting the painting. When you finally decide it’s perfect, you give it to your friend. Well, all your friend does is point out everything that is wrong with the painting. Sure, there are a few, but none that couldn’t be fixed. You’re so disappointed that your friend hates her gift. (This could be a book instead of a painting in a writer’s case, etc.) Well, that’s exactly how God feels! He made us just how he wants us, and we shouldn’t be pointing out just our flaws. That’s basically the gist of the quote and it was really inspiring.

Liked by 1 person

Wow. Amazing, Ariana! *clap clap* Wonderful, encouraging post! Your Mother is very true in what she says.
Have an awesome day!
~theJunebugblog

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment