Categories
Uncategorized

Time To Scare the Nightmares!

Time To Scare The Nightmares.png

Hey! ❤ 

If you haven’t seen the previous posts go ahead and check those out!!

The nightmares are real, aren’t they?

Let me tell you a story.

When I was seven-years-old I had my own bedroom on the other side of the house from my mom and dad’s bedroom, so when I opened my door I faced my sister’s room, (or her door), and if I turned left and walked two steps that was our bathroom, but if I turned left I could walk seven steps and there were French doors leading to the dining room and if I looked right at that time by those French doors to the left I could see the living room, if I kept walking I would have the door and entry way to the left and the kitchen to the right which was a small doorway and then it got bigger, and then if you walked a little more you would see a small little office that was an opening in the wall, then if you walked ½ a step you would find the door to the master bedroom. Now, I am not just telling you my house because I want to brag that I had French doors, because I don’t like bragging and I don’t even have that house anymore, haha. The reason I told you that is because as a seven-year-old put yourself in my room, open my door and go to my bed at the very end of the room, (a bunk bed), and go to sleep, then wake up so scared and think about going to mom. Just think about it. All that way!! I had to go across the house, and for a seven-year-old at night across the house was like crossing a desert full of snakes. So, here is what I did. I slowly got up praying, but not opening my mouth because a snake might crawl into it-(my fear was snakes at that time)-I opened the door after groping for it in the darkness, I slowly opened the handle as to not make much noise, (that was not for my sister, but the ‘monsters’ or whatever I was afraid of might hear it, and then I walked about, the air flew into my face scaring me, then I began to walk, I got to the living room and I jumped on the couch which was at the edge of the hallway type space between the French doors to the dining room and the living room, I jumped onto the couch and stuffed my face in the cushions afraid, then I knew I had to get up, I got up slowly being careful to be quiet, I shaked inside, I walked slowly as to not hurt myself by stubbing my toe on something, I finally got to the master bedroom door-(somehow I made it)-I opened the door, then I walked slowly onto the carpet glad that I was no longer on the cold tile in the living room and all those other areas, I woke Mom up and she invited me into the bed, (I think Dad was on a trip for his job or something), and I slept with her that night. Safe. Peace. Sleep.

Interesting, huh? I was seven-years-old. You know what I questioned about that story 6 years later? Why didn’t I go to my sister Taylor’s room? I immediately found an answer.

Taylor, though a good sister, was not the one I went to because she never understood my nightmares, but not only that she wasn’t Mom! No one could beat Mommy.

Mom was my Mommy, she was the one that always cuddled with me and gave me the Ephesians 6 talks about our spiritual weapons. When I was seven I did not know as near as much about the Bible as I do now and I did not highlight as much, but my Mom in that time made me memorize scripture all the time and that was a blessing. 😉

Learning from a young age about my Bible was a blessing for me because my nightmares probably would have been even worse. Knowing your Bible helps with just about anything.

 

 The reason I gave you this story is because I wanted to let you know I know exactly what you mean, and I also wanted to show you that knowing your Bible does help, because it wasn’t that I was praying as I was walking, I was, but I was also saying 2 Timothy 1:7 like crazy.

I hope you enjoyed this post and it helped you. 🙂 If you ever need help with this, you can contact me through the contact page. ❤ 

3-2-1 Blast Off.png

By Ariana Evans

I'm a psychology geek, a reader, a writer, photography, and a tutor. I love all these things and will continue to "live" in these areas.

8 replies on “Time To Scare the Nightmares!”

I used to have a childhood nightmare of a duck with big white teeth trying to bite me. Ephesians says to gird your loins with truth… so I was wondering, could I, as a child have jumped out of bed naked and been safe dressed only in truth, righteousness and faith? I do like the idea of sleeping in armor. Ducks have trouble biting through metal. But iron isn’t as comfortable for sleeping as wearing only your skin.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment